The cat conundrum

My parents have the world’s cutest cat, called Maui. Every time I visit I realise that I want to see Maui just as much as I want to see my parents. Isn’t that terrible?

Maui’s a dark brown Burmese (I think it’s called seal) and at the moment she’s curled up next to me, purring. She loves warmth, and tried to sit on my laptop, before I moved her away. She likes sitting on whatever you’re paying attention to. So if I was reading a newspaper, she’d be sitting on that.

It always gets me thinking – maybe I should have my own cat. Then I think about the vet bills, the food bills, the cleaning up after the cat’s vomited bills, the cost of worming tablets, the toys…you get the picture. I also travel, at the end of the year I can be away from home for three to four weeks, so I’d either have to get a catsitter or pay for a kennel.

But is the unconditional love I’d get from a cat worth the expense? Is coming home and having something there waiting for me worth more than all the costs. I’m beginning to wonder.

I guess the biggest drawback is that I might move back to Australia at some stage. While it’s not that hard to move a pet between NZ and Australia, I think I’d have troubles finding a place to rent if I had a cat.

So logically, I don’t think it makes sense to get to a cat. But emotionally, I really want one! Especially one like Maui šŸ™‚

2 Comments

Filed under Budget, Frugal, Saving money

2 responses to “The cat conundrum

  1. heatherinsf

    I do miss my cat terribly, and the timing of him having to be put down was awful – right hefore my surgery. But, truthfully, it was good that I didn’t have the expense or responsibility of caring for a sick cat when I was recovering. That said, I would have given anything to have him with me, even though I would have struggled. Such is the conundrum of pet ownership, you love them so much and yet sometimes the reality of it is brutal. I want another cat, maybe in this new year, who knows, maybe you’ll get one too.

Leave a Reply

