It pays to shop around

The corner store with nectarines and peaches at $10.99 per kilogram

The corner store with nectarines and peaches at $10.99 per kilogram

So I’m on holidays in Sydney at the moment, and I wanted to buy some groceries. I’m staying in Waverton and there’s a local IGA just up the road. I needed a few basic items, like milk and bread, but I also liked the look of the fruit and veggies. So I bought a nectarine and a peach. Together they cost me just over $4. Not cheap!

I just wanted to shop somewhere close though, and didn’t want to drive – so I walked to the IGA, and thought it was worth the additional expense.

The larger store with much cheaper prices

The larger store with much cheaper prices

Today I went to Woolworths in Northbridge, a much larger supermarket, and amongst other things bought three nectarines and three peaches. Check out the receipt! Nectarines were $3.98 per kilo and peaches were $4.98 per kilo. That’s a big difference. I got six pieces of fruit for $3.65.

Yum! Three peaches and three nectarines for the price of one of each.

Yum! Three peaches and three nectarines for the price of one of each.

Yes, I paid for the petrol to get my car to the supermarket. And yes, the fruit was a little bit smaller at Woolworths than at the IGA,  but the difference is phenomenal.

I guess it’s not really rocket science, but it just goes to show how much you can save on simple groceries if you shop around. And if it hadn’t been for writing this blog I may not have noticed just how much I’d saved!

Leave a comment

Filed under Budget, Frugal, shopping

Leave a Reply

