Mystery shopping

Wouldn’t it be great to get free petrol? Well, when I was a mystery shopper I used to get reimbursed for $20 petrol and $2 for an in store purchase. I’d often get two or three of these shops in one day, so I could fill my car up.

In the end though, it just wasn’t worth the hassle. For each assignment I did, I had to drive to a petrol station, and then had to fill in a long questionnaire and submit a photo of the receipt online when I got home. The paperwork had to be done that day.

That wasn’t so bad though. It was the fact that I kept getting called by the mystery shopping company to take McDonald’s assignments. I’m not a big fan of the Golden Arches, I find the food just sits in my tummy making me feel a bit queasy. But they just kept calling, offering me up to three jobs a day and a bonus if I took the assignment.

Finally, I just felt like a spy, basically dobbing in the staff when they did things wrong. Not very nice, particularly when these people are working behind the till for hours. I reckon most of them knew I was a mystery shopper because I’d ask for receipts. I had to. But who asks for receipts at McDonald’s?

I complained a lot to my family and friends about the mystery shopping, and they just kept telling me to quit. But I actually really needed the free petrol, so I couldn’t quit. That’s when I decided that I would only do the petrol assignments.

Then I got fired! I found out it was because I told one woman who called to ask me to do another McDonald’s job that I wouldn’t take any more of their assignments. Apparently choosing not to do McDonald’s assignments was a sackable offence. Can you believe that! Being fired from a job you don’t want!

Then a few weeks later they started calling me again with assignments. I think there must only be a small group of mystery shoppers in Wellington, and they couldn’t afford to lose me.

The calls just kept coming, so I decided to quit, turning down any jobs they offered, but I kept looking at the website every so often, just to see if a petrol assignment came up. The calls still kept coming, despite telling them I wanted to quit, and it wasn’t until one of the woman calling said “But you were on the website yesterday” that the penny dropped. They were tracking when I logged into their site, and the only way to quit was to stop looking online for any more assignments. Even petrol assignments. So I bit the bullet and stopped looking. And then finally they stopped calling.

Leave a comment

Filed under Budget, Freebie, Frugal, shopping

Leave a Reply

