The perfect gift…something you already have

It was my Mum’s birthday in October. Unlike my Dad, she doesn’t get too worked up about birthdays, so I just sent her a card. I wanted to give her something nice though, because she’s really been there for me this year.

I was going through my wardrobe and came across a Max leather jacket I bought when I first arrived in Wellington. I hadn’t worn it in over three years, so I was going to try and sell it when I remembered how much my Mum loved it when I showed it to her when she’d visited Wellington. She loves grey leather things, and they’re very rarely available. It was also three quarter length sleeves which suits both of us, ¬†because we are both short with little arms!

I bought the jacket on sale, and being three years ago I can’t remember exactly how much it was, but it was probably about $100.

Perfect! Rather than buy her something she may or may not like, I decided to bring the jacket to Sydney as a belated birthday present. I’m happy to say, she loved it. She reminded me that she’d even tried to buy one for herself when she was in Wellington but the shop had sold out. Happy belated birthday Mum!

The leather jacket I gave to my Mum as a belated birthday present. She loved it!

The leather jacket I gave to my Mum as a belated birthday present. She loved it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Bargain, Budget, Clothing, Frugal, GIft, Saving money, shopping

Leave a Reply

