Finding the perfect match

I’m an op shop fiend. I admit it. I’m addicted. Occasionally I am simply amazed by my own luck. Here is a cup and saucer I bought in a more upmarket op shop for $20. Not cheap, but I just loved the patterns. See the plate though? I bought that many months later on a road trip to Napier, nowhere near Wellington. It was $3. I couldn’t believe my luck.

The cup and saucer and matching plate, bought separately

The cup and saucer and matching plate, bought separately

I recently moved and did a big purge, selling a few trios that I’d accumulated. Not surprisingly with my op shop habit I’d managed to acquire quite a lot of stuff. It threatened to overwhelm me. However, I couldn’t bear to part with this set, I sometimes wonder if they are all from the same set, or whether I’ve matched the different parts from two different trios. I’m yet to drink tea out of the cup though, I like the fact that it’s practically brand new. And the fact that it was a complete bargain!

The trio united!

The trio united!

4 Comments

Filed under Bargain, Saving money, shopping

4 responses to “Finding the perfect match

  1. What luck! They are very pretty. I love teacups, and have a small collection.

  2. Beautiful colours and pattern.

Leave a Reply

