A cheap, healthy snack

Yum, popcorn!

Yum, popcorn!

As I sit here typing this post I’m munching on yummy popcorn. It’s cheap and really easy to make. Here’s how I do it:

Take a large saucepan with a lid.

Cover the bottom of the saucepan with a thin layer of oil.

Put 5 corn kernels into the saucepan and heat on high.

When two or three of the kernels have popped, add about a third of a cup of kernels, put the lid on and take off the heat. Then shake the saucepan while counting to 30. This coats the kernels in the hot oil.

Then put back on the heat and wait for the kernels to stop popping. Only lift the lid slightly if necessary to let out steam, don’t take the lid off completely or your kitchen will be covered in popcorn.

Then add whatever you like. Some people add melted butter, I add just a bit of salt, or to make the popcorn sweet, add a little icing sugar and shake through. Yummo!

The best thing is a 500g bag of popping corn costs about $3. I’ve had the same pack for over a year, and it’s only half used. So it’s quick and easy and cheap. My kind of snack.

10 Comments

Filed under Bargain, Saving money, Tips

10 responses to “A cheap, healthy snack

  1. I’m always tempted to leave the lid off of the pot and watch the kernels pop all over the kitchen…

  2. Takes me back to the old jiffy pop days

  3. I make it the same way – adding only 3 kernels. You still have half a bag – get eating!

  4. Maree

    Yumm! Looks good. I’ve an avid popcorn lover and find myself spending $4 a week on popcorn from the supermarket. This will save me heaps on my grocery shopping bill!

Leave a Reply

